Brief description of the legal entity

The University of Tartu was founded in 1632. It consists of nine faculties, was established in 1976. Its main research and teaching fields are journalism studies, media economics, media policy and ethics, professionalisation of journalism and media literacy. Research in journalism is largely conducted within the framework of several international projects.

Short profile of the team members

Halliki Harro-Loit is the leader of the research team of the University of Tartu. She is Associate Professor and the Head of the Institute of Journalism and Communication at the University of Tartu. Her fields of research cover communication policy discourse analysis of media content, journalism studies, communication law and ethics, and media education. She has taken administrative responsibilities for several projects, including a project about changes of organisation culture in Estonian media organisations and a project on the communication strategies of public authorities (including media strategies) before, during and after periods of crisis. She has numerous academic publications and has recently published about the diversity of media and online professional journalism in the Baltic states. Among other subjects she has been teaching communication law and ethics since 1992. She is also a member of the (original) Estonian Press Council (since 1992). For the period 1997-2002, she was the Vice-Chairperson of the (original) Estonian Press Council.

Title: Dr.
Position: Associate Professor
Tel: +372 73 75 188
Fax: +372 73 76 355

Address: University of Tartu
Institute of Journalism and Communication
18, Ulikooli Str.
50090 Tartu

Urmas Loit is a Lecturer at the University of Tartu, mainly teaching radio. He was the country reporter and local translator, editor and publisher for the OSI/EUMAP European report ‘Television across Europe: Regulation, Policy and Independence’ (2005). He is a member of the (original) Estonian Press Council since 1992, and has been the Chairperson of the (original) Estonian Press Council from 1996 to 2002. He is a former radio journalist (1988-1995) and former Managing Director of the Association of Estonian Broadcasters (1996-2009).